My First Post.

I may be crazy, but I’ve decided to start selling hand-dyed yarn for a profit.  I’ve been researching the heck out of it and think it’s something I just might be successful at.  If not, I’ll end up with a bunch of awesome yarn!    My motivation is two-fold.  My new job is a little more stressful than I planned on (but I still love it) and I’m looking for a creative outlet, and my new job isn’t paying as well as I planned, so it’ll provide a little extra income.  I guess I’ll just blame this insane journey on my job.

A little more about my (slightly) stressful job.  I’m an airline pilot flying for Mesaba Airlines, a Northwest Airlink.  I sit in the left seat, which makes me the captain and while it’s fun, it’s also a fair bit of responsibility.  I often have first officers who have never flown near thunderstorms, landed on a snowy runway, or just aren’t sure how a certain button works.  I realize that I was also once in their position, so I’m happy to teach them, but it also increases my workload.  I will be occasionally telling “war stories” from work, but I’ll keep it basic so all can enjoy.

More about the endeavor.  I’ve been researching anything and everything I can get my hands on pertaining to selling on Etsy, dyeing yarn, treating my hobby as a business…  I’ve picked out a name and need to register it before I make any official announcements about it, and have slowly started gathering supplies that I’ll need.  I’ve been experimenting with KoolAid and Wilton’s gel coloring as dyes, but still need to learn how to use acid dyes.  I wish I could just stick to the KA and Wilton’s, but since I’m trying to be profitable, I’ll go with the professional stuff. 

That’s it for now.  Any suggestions or helpful hints are very welcome in the comments section! 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment